top of page

Rollin' Creamery » Rollin' with the Homies | Fountain Valley, California

Rollin' Creamery | Fountain Valley, California

After their 19 country Southeast Asian honeymoon, Josh & Paulina Lackey couldn't stop thinking about the rolled ice cream from Thailand. They quit their day jobs, Josh's in sales and Paulina as a dental hygienist, and ordered the circular cooling pan used to mix, freeze and roll the ice cream. The pair began learning how to make the dessert and investing in their new business, finding a location in Fountain Valley. Rollin' Ice Cream opened shop February 11, 2017.

When I heard about Rollin' Creamery, I was super excited to check it out since I had just visited Thailand in January (2017) where I first tried this twist to the classic dessert. I had seen videos of rolled ice cream on my Facebook and they were all from Asian countries, but this establishment brings it closer to home, just a 10 minute drive!

» Food & Drink «

Rollin' Creamery offers 10 ice cream iteams: Matcha's-N-Creme, Cafe Sua Da, Andes Mint Chocolate Chip, Black Sesame, Fudge Brownie, Coconut, Cookie Butter, Pineapple Chamoy, Sea Salt Caramel and Strawberry Cheesecake. Each cup has one flavored ice cream and toppings that go with the recipe. It is priced at $6 per cup.

They offer three drinks: Cold Brew Thai Tea, Cold Brew Jasmine Milk Tea, Strawberry Lemonade at $3.75 each.

*I tried the Cookie Butter and Cafe Sua Da with a friend and I liked the cookie butter more. I'm not really a coffee person so the Cafe Sua Da was a little to bitter for me. I love Cookie Butter and Recess's Cups are one of my favorite chocolates so it was a no brainer that I got this and it was delicious.

*Food Tip: When you first get the ice cream it is extremely cold since it just got off the freezing plate and if you start trying to eat it like regular ice cream you'll probably break the plastic spoon. So what was suggested by a employee was to stick your spoon in the middle of one of the rolls and eat it like a popsicle. By the time you finish that the rest should be soft enough to eat like regular ice cream. (OR if you are like me...you'll probably be taking a bunch of pictures of the ice cream and with the ice cream that it will become soft after your photoshoot. No need for this tip)

Food & Drink: 3/5

» Aesthetics & Vibes «

The shop has all the trendy must: White brick wall, check! Cool quote, check! Rustic map, check! Framed pictures of menu, check! They give you perfect backgrounds for your foodie pictures. I wasn't really a fan of their menu decor and was more confused if anything, I think it would've worked more cohesively if they had either uniform picture layouts or frames. Also, they should've somehow put the name of the item because yeah I see it in the picture but then I'd have to look at the menu again and figure it out. It was just a busy piece. Stick to just reading the menu if this is your first time. Anyhow, this is just me nit picking.

Aesthetic & Vibe: 4/5

» Service «

The employees were nice and very quick (or at least they tried with how busy it was the night I went). The cashier asked us if we've ever been there and was the one that gave us the tip how to eat the ice cream to avoid a spoon casualty. He also helped me make up my mind on which flavor to get. Thanks! After order, you can stand in the waiting line to watch them roll out your ice cream. It's really cool watching them mash up the ice cream and ingredients together, spread it in a perfect square cooling plate and then roll the ice cream carefully. Once your are down they'll call your name at the end of the counter.

The store is a long rectangle and there are a few stools in the front of the store and four tables in the back. Surprisingly, even though it was busy when I went, we found a table right away. There was a worker that came out every now and then to wipe down the tables after a party left.

Service: 5/5

» Parking «

Rollin' Creamery is located in a plaza with RiteAid and Big Lots and there is plenty of parking so no need to worry about this. Especially if you go late, Rollin' Creamery is one of the only things open.

Rollin' Creamery | Fountain Valley, California

Parking: 5/5

OVERALL

It gets a 17/20 which is great! The rolled ice cream was good and I love the consistency for this style of ice cream but I'm a sucker for Chipotle style/customizing food and the current recipes are not enough for me. I would've liked to see something more fruity like something with Mango (I LOVE MANGO!) and the price is a bit expensive in my opinion. Yes, the ice cream is in pretty rolls and is thicker than regular ice cream but after a few seconds it is just regular ice cream with toppings. I'd go for the novelty of it with a friend that hasn't been but I don't really seeing myself craving it.

Rollin' Creamery

Mon - Thu | 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Fri | 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Sat & Sun | 11:00 am - 11:00 pm

17908 1/2 Magnolia St Fountain Valley, CA 92708

(714) 203-7021

Thanks Rollin' Creamery!

Hot & New | Trendy | Food & Science

» Last Updated: March 15, 2017 «

 

Have you ever had rolled ice cream before? Which flavor would you try or have tried? Do you know any cool ice cream shops I should check out?

 

Related Posts

See All

You Might Also Like:

Justine Alonzo

Justine is the founder of The Iridescent Wings, a blog all about chasing an adventure near and far.  She is a Southern Californian and gives local tips on LA, OC and SD, from her favorites to what's trending.  You can also catch her on a flight to other parts of the United States, Europe, Asia and beyond. 

 

Recommendations are always welcome! Thanks for reading!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Yelp Icon
  • Grey Snapchat Icon
  • Grey Vimeo Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
bottom of page